Learning it’s okay to do things by yourself you normally do with other people.

I’ve come to the realization it’s summer movie time and I haven’t gone to see anything in theaters.  Now normally, I don’t go to the movies, unless it’s something I can’t wait for it to come out on Blu-Ray.  But even then, I never go by myself.  I like that experience of seeing it with family and friends.

However, the past few years I’ve only been to a few movies.  Most of the time when I want to go and ask anyone to go with me, they’ve already seen it and don’t want to go again.  Or I’m asked to watch my beloved godchild.  Now, I honestly and truthfully do not mind watching her in order for “Big Brother” and “Sis” to have a date movie.  His work schedule changes and he may not get off in time to go see a movie.  Her parents live out of town and his parents…well, they are pretty much unreliable unless it’s for their (actually his mother’s) benefit.

Which brings me to all this.  I’m watching my beloved goddaughter for a little bit on Saturday then taking her to a party at her dance studio.  “Sis” wants to take “Big Brother” to one of the movies he hasn’t seen yet, but it’s either 4:00 or 7:00 for the movie and the dance party is from 6:00 to 9:00.  So, CiCi to the rescue!

This got me to thinking.  Do I really need anyone with me when I go see a movie?  As a woman who knows the realities that there are those certain types of people out there, yes, it’s always nice to have someone with you to back you up.  But if I go opening weekend, when I know there will be plenty of people, I should be more comfortable.  Plus, Mom & Dad taught this girl a few things in order to defend herself.

But does this need only to apply to the movies?  There are restaurants I have wanted to try but either I have no one to go with due to schedules and such or no one wants to go.  What about a local festival or a museum or a concert, etc?  I could go do these things by myself if I really want to.  Why should doing them by myself hold me back from doing them?

As I’m figuring out who I am and what makes me happy, it’s also putting into perspective what I have been holding myself back from doing.  Going to the movies, trying a new restaurant, traveling.  That’s something I’ve started to want to do more since I started my current job 4 years ago.  There are so many places I want to visit between in my country and around the world.

So, I think I’m going to begin small.  Go to a movie or a restaurant and grow from there.  Maybe I’ll take a cooking or painting class.  I won’t let fear get in the way.

Ocean Single Seashell

CiCi

Leave a Reply

