I am one of those who says she loves her job and where she works.

Ocean School of Fish

Back to work tomorrow.  I am one of those lucky people to have summers off because of where I work.  At the same time, I don’t get paid these weeks I am off…good thing I’m very careful with my spending and make sure I have plenty saved for the time off.  And I’ve been bouncing off the walls to go back to work since after the week of July 4th.

I truly love my job and where I work.  And it took me some time to get to this point.  My 20s were not the greatest…at least my late 20s.  I had a plan in mind…going back to grad school, doing something I’m passionate about…but I let my employer at the time get into my head and just take over.  Told me these grandiose ideas for me within the company.  I let her use and abuse me but was afraid to leave as I didn’t know the job market was like at that time, considering how messed up the economy was.

But then my mom told me about a client of the salon she managed needing help at the preschool she owned.  I went in did a quick interview, got a background check, and was given a job.  I enjoyed working there.  Over a year after I was hired, my boss asked me what I wanted to do.  I was confused by the question.  Then she explained that while she and the rest of the staff loved having me work there, she knew something much better was out there for me.

She asked about my experience substitute teaching and if I thought about going back into the education field.  I hadn’t thought about it in a long while due to my previous place of employment.  So I started looking into what was open to me.  And let me tell you, I applied for every office job, teaching assistant, and such position for a few months.

Then my own city decided to form its own school district.  I set myself up on their online application and applied for every position I was qualified for.  I got a phone call a couple of days after the job postings closed asking me to come in for an interview the next day.

Long story short, I got the position in the office.  I literally screamed and scared my dad.  Tomorrow, I’m starting my 4th year at the awesome place with the best bosses I could ask for and a great group of people to work with.  My work family is awesome.  So ready to back in the swing of things.  It’s nice to have the time off, but I truly enjoy what I do, where I work, and who I work with.  And I’ve missed my kiddos.

My job has become a part of who I am.  I get happy when people ask me about what I do and where I work.  My boss is my people…we have nerd discussions and have everyone else around just look at us like we both grew an extra head.  I have missed talking to him…he’s totally going to get on to me for not seeing any movies this summer but we can talk about Game of Thrones and Westworld!

It’s back to my regular bedtime and wake up schedule tonight.  Thank goodness I’ve been slow weening myself back onto it these past couple of week.

CiCi

4 thoughts on “I am one of those who says she loves her job and where she works.

      1. Yes, absolutely, it does take some navigating. I’ve so far quit an entire industry, dabbled in a couple more, only to resign again in order to spend a year investing in the work I want to do. The hope is to arrive in the place that you are at today! Thank you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

