Striving to be better

A fault of mine is sometimes thinking before I speak.  This mostly turns into a debate, which for the most part turns out to be on very good terms.  Case in point today…one of my case managers comes up to me letting me know we have to have meetings for her students of one grade to fix issues on their paperwork.  It took her a bit to explain, which after seeing the issue, I had to counter with why this is the way it is.

I was a bit annoyed at the highers up…1.) for not catching this before we left for the summer to start fixing the issue, 2.) that we would have to pull meetings forward, and 3.) that my teachers who were the case managers last year did not get a very good explanation as to what they needed to do.  We got into a lengthy conversation regarding all this.  I got a bit heated because while I see why we’re doing this…mostly so we stay in compliance…the timing was so bad and I was defending my teachers.

I’ll need to apologize to her when I next see her.  I didn’t mean to come off so harsh, though we didn’t rip each other’s heads off.  In fact, she asked if I was single as she has a friend who’s…I’m getting off current topic.  But it got me to thinking.  I’ve come to care about the welfare of my students and understand what DEC…to use another acronym…truly means.  I’ve been asked if I want to go back to school, and as I continue to get closer to being 40, it’s been on my mind.  I know I can’t do it until I’ve paid off most of my debt and saved some money so I don’t have to borrow it…or too much.

I don’t think I’d want to teach.  Don’t get me wrong.  I have major respect for it and once considered becoming a teacher.  But now, I think I won’t to be in a position where I can help the teachers more.  To get their voices heard and advocate better for their/our students.  So if anything, I’ll go toward a specialty degree.

It’s funny how a journey of reflection can help you better understand yourself and something you might want to achieve.

Ocean dark

CiCi

Leave a Reply

